Baur

Exhibitions

Le bleu des mers

Dialogues entre la Chine, la Perse et l'Europe

23 November 2017 - 25 February 2018

-

Inscrite dans le courant d’intérêt qui se développe pour les relations entre l’Extrême-Orient, l’Asie et l’Europe, l’exposition revient sur l’exportation de la porcelaine chinoise bleu et blanc..

View

Yoshikawa Masamichi

Architectures

6 September 2017 - 15 October 2017

-

In the context of the 15th Parcours céramique carougeois, the Baur Foundation, Museum of Far Eastern Art, is pleased to welcome the ceramist Yoshikawa Masamichi, the winner of many prizes...

View

A Chinese Adventure

A Swiss family in pursuit of success in the Celestial Empire

6 April 2017 - 2 July 2017

-

Long stored away at the bottom of a trunk, a bundle of letters describes the fortunes, trade and spirits of a family who left the Swiss Canton of Neuchâtel in the 19th century to sell watches to the Chinese...

View

Jewels of the distant east

Gold Across the Seas

28 September 2016 - 26 February 2017

-

Following on from Jewellery from the Roof of the World (2012), which led us down the trails of the Silk Road, this exhibition will follow the seafaring routes of this legendary trading circuit illustrated by the magic of archaeological and ethnic jewellery…

View

Modern Japanese prints

1910-1960

3 March 2016 - 22 May 2016

-

This exhibition presents a selection of works from the important collection of modern Japanese prints, Nihon no Hanga, in Amsterdam…

View

ASIA IMAGINED

In the Baur and Cartier Collections

12 November 2015 - 14 February 2016

-

In the nineteenth and twentieth centuries it was fashionable to collect “curios” – as these objects were rightly called, since they elicited curiosity. These exotic items from China or Japan, embellished with peculiar decorations and made of various materials, some of which are still unknown, held Westerners enthralled…

View

JEAN GIREL

Return to the sources, Song Ceramics

3 September 2015 - 18 October 2015

-

As part of the 14th Parcours céramique carougeois, the Baur Foundation, Museum of Far Eastern Art, has the pleasure of welcoming Jean Girel, an internationally renowned French potter and Maître d’Art…

View

ALFRED BAUR (1865-1951)

Pioneer and collector

5 March 2015 - 28 June 2015

-

To mark the 150th anniversary of the birth of Alfred Baur (1865–1951), the Baur Foundation, Museum of Far Eastern Art, pays tribute to its founder with an exhibition that celebrates his work as a pioneer in Ceylon and his activities as a collector of Asian arts in Geneva…

View

IMPERIAL CHINA

Splendours of the Qing Dynasty (1644–1911)

2 October 2014 - 4 January 2015

-

To mark the fiftieth anniversary of its museum, the Baur Foundation, Museum of Far Eastern Art offers a stroll through the history and art of China during the Qing Dynasty (1644–1911), by way of the famous collections of the Guimet, Quai Branly, Decorative Arts and Army museums in Paris, the Château de Fontainebleau, the National Library of France, the Library of Geneva, and the Victoria and Albert Museum of London…

View

JAPANESE BUDDHIST TEXTILES

22 May 2014 - 10 August 2014

-

On the occasion of the fiftieth anniversary of the museum, the Baur Foundation is pleased to present its collection of Japanese Buddhist textiles, acquired by Alfred Baur (1865-1951) in 1927…

View

THE TÔKAIDÔ ROAD

Japanese Prints from the Baur Foundation

13 February 2014 - 6 April 2014

-

During the Tokugawa period (1603-1868), five major highways departed from the centre of the city of Edo (modern Tokyo) and headed for the west and north of Japan. The most famous and widely-travelled of these was the Tôkaidô, following the sea coast before turning inland to the old imperial capital, Kyoto, with a branch road continuing to the port city of Osaka…

View

THE FRAGRANCE OF INK

Korean literati painting of the Joseon Dynasty (1392-1910)

14 November 2013 - 12 February 2014

-

In comparison with Chinese and Japanese art, Korean culture remains less well known in the West…

View

PHILIPPE LAMBERCY

A committed artist (1919–2006)

12 September 2013 - 20 October 2013

-

Organised with Elisabeth Lambercy and her family, this exhibition falls within the framework of the thirteenth Parcours Céramique Carougeois and presents a retrospective of the work of Philippe Lambercy, ranging from the 1950s to the 2000s…

View

INK BLACKS - AN EXCHANGE OF VIEWS

Hans Hartung and contemporary Chinese painters

11 April 2013 - 4 August 2013

-

Organised in partnership with the Cabinet d’arts graphiques du Musée d’art et d’histoire de Genève and private collectors, the exhibition brings together lithographs by Hans Hartung (1904–1989) and contemporary Chinese paintings…

View

Jewellery from the Roof of the World

From China to the Caucasus, The Ghysels Collection

28 September 2012 - 3 March 2013

-

This exhibition tells of the immensity of the wilderness that runs from China to the Caucasus. Some 200 pieces of jewellery from the famous Ghysels Collection lead the visitor along the Silk Roads, through Mongolia, Tibet, Nepal, Northern India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, and Central Asia…

View

Goddesses - Indian Miniature Paintings and Sculptures

3 May 2012 - 29 July 2012

-

The vast Hindu pantheon is made up of beings often unfamiliar to the Western viewer. These highly expressive deities may seem fierce and bloodthirsty, with animal or human faces in blue, black, or golden hues, wearing clothes of animal skins and necklaces of snakes or human heads; but they can also be gentle, beautiful, richly adorned with jewels and wearing elegant saris…

View

China of bronze and gold

The Dong Bo Zhai Collection

2 December 2011 - 1 April 2012

-

Three different aspects of the rich Chinese cultural heritage are presented in this exhibition of objects from the Dong Bo Zhai Collection, brought together by a collector from Hong Kong…

View

DANIEL DE MONTMOLLIN

Brother of Taizé, Inhabited Stones

16 September 2011 - 30 October 2011

-

As part of the 12th “Parcours Céramique Carougeois”, and to celebrate the ninetieth birthday of the artist Daniel de Montmollin, the Baur Foundation, museum of Far Eastern Art has invited him to exhibit in their galleries…

View

Five Blessings

Coded Messages in Chinese Art

8 April 2011 - 7 August 2011

-

Westerners have long been irresistibly attracted by the China conjured up in travellers’ tales, engravings, paintings and the various products and objects arriving from this distant land…

View

The Monochrome Principle

3 December 2010 - 6 March 2011

-

This exhibition, organised by the Baur Foundation in collaboration with the Museum für Lackkunst of Munster, is devoted to Chinese monochrome lacquerware and ceramics from the Song (960-1279), Yuan (1271-1368), and Qing (1644-1911) dynasties…

View

15 years of donations

19 August 2010 - 3 October 2010

-

Following the exhibition devoted to the collection of Chinese ceramics of the Ambassador and Mrs. Charles Müller, the Baur Foundation is pleased to present other major donations received since 1995. As early as 1987, the museum collections had been enriched by three Chinese fans dating from the Ming (1368-1644) dynasty, given by the heirs of Ernest Ilg (1899-1986), the Foundation’s first gérant…

View

An Ocean Odyssey, the Adventure of Chinese Ceramics

Collection of Ambassador and Mrs Charles Müller

19 February 2010 - 1 August 2010

-

This exhibition presents a selection of choice pieces from the collection of Chinese export ceramics of Ambassador and Mrs Charles Müller, displayed in a wider cultural context along with navigational instruments, engravings and old books, sculptures and models of boats lent by various Geneva museums…

View

A Record of the Floating World

Japanese Prints from 1700 to 1900

3 November 2009 - 30 December 2009

-

In this exhibition, the Baur Foundation, Museum of Far Eastern Art presents an overview of the main stages in the development of the Japanese print from 1700 to 1900…

View

World Scenes

Philippe Barde, Jacques Kaufmann - Ten Years of Travels in China

4 September 2009 - 18 October 2009

-

This exhibition, organised to coincide with the Parcours céramique in Carouge and the 50th anniversary of the Swiss Ceramic Association, presents a shared vision of China through the works of Jacques Kaufmann and Philippe Barde…

View

The Arts of Ancient Viêt Nam

Bronzes and ceramics

1 February 2008 - 4 May 2008

-

Over the years, the Baur Collection, Museum of Far Eastern Art has committed itself to showing to the public various facets of Asian cultures, and is now pleased to present an exhibition on the arts of ancient Vietnam…

View

Chinese Snuff Bottles from the Baur Collection

20 November 2007 - 13 January 2008

-

This exhibition presents the finest Chinese snuff bottles from among the 556 pieces collected by Alfred Baur, including those to be published in the 12th volume of the Catalogue of the Baur Collection, available from December 2007…

View

Tea Culture and Contemporary Ceramics

21 September 2007 - 4 November 2007

-

This exhibition is a homage to the first presentation of contemporary ceramics at the Baur Collection, organised in autumn 1966…

View

Japanese lacquer from the Baur Collection

26 April 2007 - 12 August 2007

-

The collection of lacquerware assembled by Alfred Baur comprises almost eight hundred Japanese lacquers. The collector’s choice is tinged with a resolutely modern orientation…

View

Gold Of The Steppes

The goldsmith’s craft under the Liao dynasty (907-1125)

24 November 2006 - 25 March 2007

-

The Baur Collection, Museum of Far Eastern Art, present for the first time in Europe an exceptional exhibition of gold ware from the Liao dynasty (907-1125), contemporary with the Five Dynasties (907-960) and Northern Song (960-1127) in China…

View

Edo Prints

A World of Pleasures

15 September 2006 - 5 November 2006

-

This exhibition of Japanese prints from the Baur Collection presents some of the many leisure pursuits of the inhabitants of Edo (modern-day Tokyo) in the 18th and early 19th centuries…

View

The Fascination of Ceramics

Masterpieces of Modern Japanese Pottery from the Gisela Freudenberg Collection

19 May 2006 - 20 August 2006

-

During the 20th century no other country had such a decisive influence on the world of ceramics as did Japan. The extraordinary developments in Japanese ceramics since the height of Japonisme around 1900 have marked generations of potters, both in the West and in the East…

View

Comme un poisson dans l'eau

Symbolism of the fish in China and Japan

18 November 2005 - 23 April 2006

-

Anyone browsing through a book on Chinese or Japanese art will quickly realise that the animals which inhabit East Asian decorative motifs are not the same as in Western art, but belong to an entirely separate category of mythological and realistic beasts…

View

Jean-François Fouilhoux

Ceramic Sculptures - Celadon, the Captive Light

23 September 2005 - 30 October 2005

-

Following on from the “Celadon - Ceramic Treasures of China” exhibition (29 April to 21 August 2005), which presented the history and development of Celadon in Zhejiang province over more than 2000 years, the Baur Collection is pleased to present ceramic sculptures by Jean-François Fouilhoux. The exhibition is organised in association with the 9th edition of the “Carouge Ceramic Itinerary” (Parcours Céramique de Carouge)…

View

Celadon

Ceramic Treasures of China (11th c. BC – 14th c. AD)

8 April 2005 - 31 July 2005

-

The Baur Collection is proud to present, for the first time in Europe, an exhibition of exceptional ceramics, selected from the collections of six museums in Zhejiang province: the Provincial Museum of Hangzhou, and the museums of Cixi, Longquan, Qingyuan, Shangyu and Xiaoshan…

View

Under the Dragon’s Claw

Court Costumes of the Qing Dynasty (1644 -1911)

5 November 2004 - 20 February 2005

-

To celebrate the 40th anniversary of the opening of the Museum, and following the inauguration of its Japanese garden, the Baur Collections are proud to present, in collaboration with the Ethnographical Museum of Geneva, an exhibition of 19th-century Chinese court costumes…

View

Signs from Asia

From calligraphy to printing

9 July 2004 - 17 October 2004

-

The selection of paintings, prints, rubbings, calligraphy, books and writing implements presented in this exhibition is an invitation into the world of the East Asian scholar…

View

Heroic Japan

The way of the Samurai

2 April 2004 - 27 June 2004

-

In the west and in Japan itself the image of the Samurai exerts a lasting fascination. Transported onto the big screen, into novels or manga, (comic books) this idealised image is that of a formidable warrior adhering to a strict code of conduct based on a sense of honour, courage and a loyalty above reproach…

View

Island Treasures

Chinese ceramics for South-East Asia from the 1st to the 17th centuries - Collection of Ambassador and Mrs Charles Müller

14 November 2003 - 21 March 2004

-

This exhibition presents more than 200 Chinese ceramics from the remarkable collection of Ambassador and Mrs Charles Müller, originally begun by Mrs Müller during the couple’s stay in Indonesia from 1970 to 1973…

View

Ink and Fire

Paintings and Ceramics of Valérie Hermans

19 September 2003 - 26 October 2003

-

The Baur Collections are proud to present an exhibition devoted to the contemporary French ceramist Valérie Hermans, in association with the Carouge Parcours céramique. Her paintings and ceramics express a remarkable aesthetic sensitivity as well as great affinity with the Far East…

View

Flowers, Seasons & Symbolism

Summer and Fall through the Baur Collection

29 April 2003 - 30 June 2003

-

Flowers have often been a source of inspiration for Chinese and Japanese artists, guided by the rich symbolism which the natural world holds in both these cultures…

View

Power and Desire, Indian Miniatures

from the Edwin Binney 3rd Collection of the San Diego Museum of Art

21 March 2003 - 15 June 2003

-

The Baur Collections are pleased to present an exhibition of 67 remarkable Indian miniatures, chosen from among the 1450 works left by the American collector Edwin Binney 3rd to the San Diego Museum of Art, in California…

View

The Seven Gods of Happiness

15 November 2002 - 9 March 2003

-

At the centre of this exhibition devoted to the Seven Gods of Happiness (Shichi Fukujin) is a series of surimono prints, signed Gakutei, and dated to the end of the 1820s…

View

Sho, Japanese calligraphy

By contemporary masters

27 September 2002 - 3 November 2002

-

This exhibition presents a selection of works in different formats and calligraphic styles, from the monumental to the very delicate…

View

Xiehanglou - The Pavilion of Marital Harmony

Painting and Calligraphy between Tradition and Modernity

3 May 2002 - 15 September 2002

-

The Baur Collection takes pleasure in opening on 3 May an exhibition of Chinese art, which will bring together paintings, calligraphy and objects for the scholar’s desk from the 16th to the 20th century…

View

Ferns Feathers Flowers

Japanese Lacquer of the Meiji and Taishô Periods from the Baur Collection

12 October 2001 - 13 January 2002

-

In the present exhibition, more than 180 Japanese lacquers highlight the years between 1890 and 1940. These pieces are the witnesses of the revival of the Japanese lacquer art at the beginning of the 20th century…

View

Sunken treasure

Céramiques chinoises du XVe siècle provenant de la jonque LENA

6 April 2001 - 1 July 2001

-

The "Sunken Treasure" exhibition, organised and presented by the Baur Collection in Geneva, has been designed as an invitation to a voyage and a discovery: a voyage to the Philippines, on the west of the Island of Busuanga, where the wreck of the Lena junk was discovered in 1997 at the depth of 50 meters, and the discovery of the diversity of late 15th century export ceramics…

View

Baur

Expositions

Le bleu des mers

Dialogues entre la Chine, la Perse et l'Europe

23 novembre 2017 - 25 février 2018

-

Inscrite dans le courant d’intérêt qui se développe pour les relations entre l’Extrême-Orient, l’Asie et l’Europe, l’exposition revient sur l’exportation de la porcelaine chinoise bleu et blanc..

Aperçu

Yoshikawa Masamichi

Architectures

6 septembre 2017 - 15 octobre 2017

-

Dans le cadre du 15e Parcours céramique carougeois, la Fondation Baur, musée des arts d’Extrême-Orient, a le plaisir d’accueillir cette année le céramiste de renommée internationale Yoshikawa Masamichi, lauréat de nombreux prix...

Aperçu

L'Aventure Chinoise

Une famille suisse à la conquête du Céleste empire

6 avril 2017 - 2 juillet 2017

-

Longtemps conservées au fond d’une malle, des lettres décrivent la fortune, le négoce et les états d’âme d’une famille partie du canton de Neuchâtel au XIXe siècle vendre des montres aux Chinois...

Aperçu

Bijoux d’orients lointains

Au fil de l’or au fil de l’eau

28 septembre 2016 - 26 février 2017

-

Dans la lignée des Bijoux des Toits du Monde (2012) qui nous entrainaient sur les sentiers de la « Route de la Soie », l’exposition propose de suivre la voie maritime de ce chemin mythique grâce à la magie de parures archéologiques ou ethniques…

Aperçu

Estampes modernes japonaises

1910-1960

3 mars 2016 - 22 mai 2016

-

Cette exposition présente une sélection de l’importante collection d’estampes japonaises modernes, Nihon no Hanga, à Amsterdam…

Aperçu

L'ASIE RÊVÉE

Dans les Collections Baur & Cartier

12 novembre 2015 - 14 février 2016

-

Aux XIXe et XXe siècles, on collectionne des « curios » – ainsi nommés, à juste titre, puisqu’ils suscitent la « curiosité ». Ces objets exotiques en provenance de Chine ou du Japon, ornés de décors fantaisistes, façonnés dans divers matériaux, dont certains encore méconnus, subjuguent les Occidentaux…

Aperçu

JEAN GIREL

Retour aux sources, la Céramique Song

3 septembre 2015 - 18 octobre 2015

-

Dans le cadre du 14ème Parcours céramique carougeois, la Fondation Baur, musée des arts d’Extrême-Orient, a le plaisir d’accueillir Jean Girel, céramiste et Maître d’art français de renommée internationale…

Aperçu

ALFRED BAUR (1865-1951)

Pionnier et collectionneur

5 mars 2015 - 28 juin 2015

-

À l’occasion des 150 ans de la naissance d’Alfred Baur (1865-1951), la Fondation Baur, musée des arts d’Extrême-Orient rend hommage à son fondateur en évoquant son œuvre de pionnier à Ceylan et de collectionneur d’art asiatique à Genève…

Aperçu

CHINE IMPERIALE

Splendeurs de la Dynastie Qing (1644-1911)

2 octobre 2014 - 4 janvier 2015

-

A l’occasion du cinquantenaire du musée, la Fondation Baur, musée des arts d’Extrême-Orient propose une promenade historique et artistique dans la Chine de la dynastie Qing (1644-1911), à travers les célèbres collections des musées Guimet, du Quai Branly, des Arts décoratifs, du Château de Fontainebleau, de l’Armée, de la Bibliothèque nationale de France, de la Bibliothèque de Genève ainsi que du Victoria and Albert Museum de Londres…

Aperçu

TEXTILES BOUDDHIQUES JAPONAIS

22 mai 2014 - 10 août 2014

-

A l’occasion du cinquantenaire du musée, la Fondation Baur a le plaisir de présenter au public sa collection de textiles bouddhiques japonais, acquise par Alfred Baur (1865-1951) en 1927…

Aperçu

LA ROUTE DU TÔKAIDÔ

Estampes japonaises de la Fondation Baur

13 février 2014 - 6 avril 2014

-

A l’époque des shôguns Tokugawa (1603-1868), cinq grandes routes quittaient le centre-ville d’Edo (Tokyo) pour rejoindre le nord et l’est du pays. La plus fréquentée et la plus célèbre de ces artères, la route du Tôkaidô, longeait en partie le littoral et conduisait à Kyôto, l’ancienne capitale et siège impérial, permettant d’accéder ensuite à la ville portuaire d’Osaka…

Aperçu

PARFUM D’ENCRE

Peinture lettrée de la Corée Joseon (1392-1910)

14 novembre 2013 - 12 février 2014

-

S’il est plus fréquent de pouvoir admirer des œuvres d’art chinoises ou japonaises dans nos contrées, la culture coréenne, elle, demeure passablement méconnue…

Aperçu

PHILIPPE LAMBERCY

Un artiste engagé (1919-2006)

12 septembre 2013 - 20 octobre 2013

-

Réalisée en collaboration avec Elisabeth Lambercy et sa famille, cette exposition, inscrite dans le cadre du 13e Parcours Céramique Carougeois, présente une rétrospective du travail de Philippe Lambercy, des années 1950 aux années 2000…

Aperçu

NOIRS D’ENCRE - REGARDS CROISES

Hans Hartung et les peintres chinois contemporains

11 avril 2013 - 4 août 2013

-

Organisée en collaboration avec le Cabinet d’arts graphiques du Musée d’art et d’histoire de Genève et des collectionneurs privés, l’exposition confronte des lithographies de Hans Hartung (1904-1989) à des peintures chinoises contemporaines…

Aperçu

Bijoux des Toits du Monde

De la Chine au Caucase, Collection Ghysels

28 septembre 2012 - 3 mars 2013

-

Cette exposition raconte les espaces immenses de la Chine au Caucase. Près de deux cents bijoux de la célèbre collection Ghysels conduisent les visiteurs sur les sentiers de la route de la Soie, en passant par la Mongolie, le Tibet, le Népal, l’Inde du Nord, l’Afghanistan, le Pakistan et l’Asie centrale…

Aperçu

Déesses, miniatures et sculptures indiennes

3 mai 2012 - 29 juillet 2012

-

L’univers des déesses et dieux hindous demeure, bien souvent, impénétrable aux yeux du spectateur occidental. On y découvre des divinités expressives, à la carnation bleue, noire ou dorée, dont le visage rappelle tantôt l’homme, tantôt l’animal…

Aperçu

Chine de bronze et d’or

Collection Dong Bo Zhai

2 décembre 2011 - 1 avril 2012

-

Cette exposition consacrée à la collection Dong Bo Zhai, réunie par un collectionneur de Hong Kong, aborde successivement trois domaines du riche patrimoine chinois…

Aperçu

DANIEL DE MONTMOLLIN

Frère de Taizé, Pierres habitées

16 septembre 2011 - 30 octobre 2011

-

Dans le cadre du 12e Parcours Céramique Carougeois et à l’occasion du nonantième anniversaire de l’artiste, la Fondation Baur, musée des arts d’Extrême-Orient a invité Daniel de Montmollin à exposer dans ses galeries…

Aperçu

Cinq bonheurs

Messages cachés des décors chinois

8 avril 2011 - 7 août 2011

-

Pendant longtemps les Occidentaux ont été irrésistiblement attirés par la Chine qu’ils découvraient au travers de récits de voyage, d’illustrations gravées ou peintes, de produits et d’objets divers qui leur parvenaient…

Aperçu

Le Principe Monochrome

3 décembre 2010 - 6 mars 2011

-

La Fondation Baur, avec la participation du Museum für Lackkunst de Munster, présente une exposition consacrée aux céramiques et laques chinois monochromes des époques Song (960-1279), Yuan (1271-1368) et Qing (1644-1911)…

Aperçu

15 ans de donations

19 août 2010 - 3 octobre 2010

-

Après l’exposition consacrée à la collection léguée par l’Ambassadeur et Madame Charles Müller, la Fondation Baur présente les principales donations reçues depuis 1995. En 1987 déjà, le musée s’était enrichi de trois éventails chinois de la dynastie Ming (1368-1644) offerts par les héritiers d’Ernest Ilg (1899-1986), premier gérant de la Fondation…

Aperçu

Routes Océanes, les tribulations de la porcelaine chinoise

Collection de l’Ambassadeur et Mme Charles Müller

19 février 2010 - 1 août 2010

-

L’exposition met en contexte les fleurons de la collection de céramiques chinoises d’exportation de l’Ambassadeur et Madame Charles Müller avec une présentation d’instruments de navigation, de gravures et livres anciens, de sculptures primitives et de maquettes de bateaux prêtés par les musées genevois…

Aperçu

Transformations du monde flottant

Estampes japonaises de 1700 à 1900

3 novembre 2009 - 30 décembre 2009

-

Dans cette exposition, la Fondation Baur, Musée des arts d’Extrême-Orient propose de retracer les grandes étapes de l’évolution de l’estampe japonaise, de 1700 à 1900…

Aperçu

Scènes du monde

Philippe Barde, Jacques Kaufmann - Dix ans de voyages en Chine

4 septembre 2009 - 18 octobre 2009

-

A l’occasion du Parcours céramique carougeois et du 50ème anniversaire de l’Association céramique Suisse, cette exposition invite, à travers les œuvres de Philippe Barde et Jacques Kaufmann, à partager un regard sur l’Empire du Milieu…

Aperçu

Art ancien du Viêt Nam

Bronzes et céramiques

1 février 2008 - 4 mai 2008

-

Les Collections Baur, musée des Arts d’Extrême-Orient, qui s’attachent au fil de leurs présentations à éclairer les diverses facettes des civilisations asiatiques, ont souhaité faire découvrir à un large public les bronzes antiques et les céramiques anciennes du Viêt Nam…

Aperçu

Flacons à tabac chinois des Collections Baur

20 novembre 2007 - 13 janvier 2008

-

Cette exposition présente les plus belles tabatières chinoises parmi l’ensemble de 556 pièces rassemblé par Alfred Baur, dont celles qui seront publiées dans le 12e volume du Catalogue des Collections Baur, à paraître en décembre 2007…

Aperçu

De l’Art du Thé à l’expression céramique contemporaine

21 septembre 2007 - 4 novembre 2007

-

Cette exposition rend hommage à la première présentation de céramiques contemporaines aux Collections Baur, à l’automne 1966…

Aperçu

Souffle d’or et éclats de nacre

Laques japonais des Collections Baur

26 avril 2007 - 12 août 2007

-

La collection de laques japonais réunie par Alfred Baur compte près de huit cents laques du Japon. Le choix du collectionneur est marqué d’une orientation résolument moderne…

Aperçu

L’or des steppes

Orfèvrerie de la dynastie Liao (907-1125)

24 novembre 2006 - 25 mars 2007

-

Les Collections Baur, Musée des Arts d’Extrême-Orient, présentent pour la première fois en Europe une exposition exceptionnelle consacrée à l’orfèvrerie de la dynastie Liao (907-1125), une époque qui correspond à la période des Cinq Dynasties (907-960) et des Song du Nord (960-1127) en Chine…

Aperçu

Estampes d’Edo

Un monde de plaisirs

15 septembre 2006 - 5 novembre 2006

-

Cette exposition d’estampes japonaises des Collections Baur présente quelques-uns des nombreux divertissements proposés aux habitants de la ville d’Edo (l’actuelle Tokyo) aux XVIIIe et XIXe siècles…

Aperçu

La fascination des céramiques

Chefs-d’œuvre de céramique japonaise contemporaine de la collection Gisela Freudenberg

19 mai 2006 - 20 août 2006

-

Au XXe siècle, nul autre pays n’aura exercé une aussi grande influence sur le monde des céramiques que le Japon. Les développements extraordinaires depuis le temps du japonisme aux alentours de 1900 ont marqué plusieurs générations de céramistes, tant en Occident qu’en Orient…

Aperçu

Comme un poisson dans l'eau

Symbolique du poisson en Chine et au Japon

18 novembre 2005 - 23 avril 2006

-

En parcourant n'importe quel livre d'art chinois ou japonais, il devient vite évident que la faune qui hante les décors n'est pas habituelle au répertoire occidental. L’ornementation extrême-orientale est peuplée à la fois d'un bestiaire fantastique et mythologique ainsi que d'animaux réalistes qui lui sont propres…

Aperçu

Jean-François Fouilhoux

Sculptures céramiques - Céladon, la lumière captive

23 septembre 2005 - 30 octobre 2005

-

En continuité de l’exposition « Céladon. Trésors céramiques de Chine » (29 avril – 21 août 2005) qui retraçait l’histoire et le développement du céladon sur plus de 2000 ans dans la province du Zhejiang, les Collections Baur ont le plaisir de présenter, en association avec le 9ème Parcours Céramique de Carouge, une exposition consacrée au sculpteur céramiste Jean-François Fouilhoux…

Aperçu

Céladon

Trésors céramiques de Chine (XIe av. J.-C. - XIVe siècle ap. J.-C.)

8 avril 2005 - 31 juillet 2005

-

Les Collections Baur ont le plaisir de présenter pour la première fois en Europe un ensemble de céramiques exceptionnelles provenant des collections de six musées de la province du Zhejiang : le Musée provincial du Zhejiang à Hangzhou, et les musées de Cixi, Longquan, Qingyuan, Shangyu, et Xiaoshan…

Aperçu

Sous la griffe du dragon

Costumes de cour de la dynastie Qing (1644-1911)

5 novembre 2004 - 20 février 2005

-

Pour l’anniversaire de leurs 40 ans, les Collections Baur ont le plaisir de présenter, en collaboration avec le Musée d’ethnographie de la Ville de Genève, une exposition consacrée au faste vestimentaire de la Cour chinoise au XIXe siècle…

Aperçu

Gestes d'asie

De la calligraphie à l'imprimerie

9 juillet 2004 - 17 octobre 2004

-

L’exposition invite à la découverte de l’univers du lettré en Asie de l’Est au travers d’estampes, de peintures sur éventail et sur rouleau, de calligraphies, de livres, d’estampages et d’objets d’écriture en céramique ou en laque…

Aperçu

Japon héroïque

La voie du Samouraï

2 avril 2004 - 27 juin 2004

-

L’image du samouraï exerce une fascination durable sur les esprits, tant en Occident qu’au Japon même. Véhiculée à l’écran, dans les romans ou les manga, cette image idéalisée est celle du guerrier redoutable agissant selon un code de conduite très strict, basé sur le sens de l’honneur, du courage et d’une loyauté à toute épreuve…

Aperçu

Trésor des îles

Céramiques chinoises pour l’Asie du Sud-Est du Ier au XVIIe siècle - Collection de l’Ambassadeur et de Madame Charles Müller

14 novembre 2003 - 21 mars 2004

-

L’exposition présente plus de 200 céramiques chinoises de la collection de l’Ambassadeur et de Madame Charles Müller. Cet ensemble exceptionnel a été initié par Madame Müller, lors de leur séjour en Indonésie de 1970 à 1973…

Aperçu

L’encre et le feu

Peintures et céramiques de Valérie Hermans

19 septembre 2003 - 26 octobre 2003

-

Les Collections Baur ont le plaisir de présenter une exposition consacrée à une céramiste contemporaine Valérie Hermans, en association avec le Parcours Céramique de Carouge. Ses peintures et ses céramiques dévoilent une esthétique qui exprime une sensibilité et un équilibre en affinité avec l’Extrême-Orient…

Aperçu

Fleurs, saisons et symbolisme

L’été, l’automne à travers les Collections Baur

29 avril 2003 - 30 juin 2003

-

Les fleurs ont inspiré de nombreux artistes en Chine et au Japon et leur valeur symbolique a toujours guidé leur choix…

Aperçu

Pouvoir et Désir, Miniatures indiennes

Collection Edwin Binney 3rd du San Diego Museum of Art

21 mars 2003 - 15 juin 2003

-

Les Collections Baur ont le plaisir de présenter une exposition de 67 remarquables miniatures indiennes, choisies parmi les 1450 œuvres léguées par le collectionneur américain Edwin Binney au San Diego Museum of Art de Californie…

Aperçu

Les sept dieux du bonheur

15 novembre 2002 - 9 mars 2003

-

Cette exposition consacrée aux « Sept Dieux du Bonheur » (Shichi Fukujin) a pour fil conducteur une suite d'estampes surimono aux somptueux coloris, signées Gakutei, que l’on peut dater de la fin des années 1820…

Aperçu

Calligraphie japonaise Sho

Œuvres de maîtres contemporains

27 septembre 2002 - 3 novembre 2002

-

L’exposition proposée comprend un choix représentatif d’œuvres exécutées dans différents formats et reflétant des styles d’écriture très divers, qui vont du monumental au plus délicat…

Aperçu

Xiehanglou - Le pavillon de l'harmonie conjugale

Peintures et calligraphies chinoises

3 mai 2002 - 15 septembre 2002

-

Les Collections Baur ont le plaisir de présenter dès le 3 mai une exposition d’art chinois comprenant des peintures, des calligraphies et des objets pour la table du lettré datant du XVIe au XXe siècle…

Aperçu

Plumes, Fougères, Fleurs

Laques Japonais des périodes Meiji et Taishô dans les Collections Baur

12 octobre 2001 - 13 janvier 2002

-

Cette exposition présente plus de 180 laques japonais datant des années 1890 à 1940. Ces pièces, qui témoignent du renouveau de l’art des laques au XXe siècle, ont été réunies par Alfred Baur entre 1925 et 1951…

Aperçu

Trésor englouti

Céramiques chinoises du XVe siècle provenant de la jonque LENA

6 avril 2001 - 1 juillet 2001

-

L’exposition « Trésor englouti », organisée et présentée par les Collections Baur à Genève, est conçue comme une invitation au voyage et à la découverte. Voyage aux Philippines, sur la côte ouest de l’île de Busuanga, où a été retrouvée l’épave par 50 mètres de fond, et découverte de la variété des céramiques produites pour l’exportation à la fin du 15e siècle…

Aperçu